Six Month Validity Passport Rule

As a general rule, passports should have at least six months of validity when traveling internationally. Most countries will not permit a traveler to enter their country unless the passport is set to expire at least six months after the final day of travel. That means if your passport has less than six months remaining until the expiration date, you should renew it right away! Adult passports (16 and older) for U.S. citizens are valid for ten years, while minor passports (15 and younger) for U.S. citizens are valid for 5 years. There are additional passport requirements though, and they differ from nation to nation. Be sure to check the entry and exit requirements for each country you plan to travel as these requirements can change regularly.

 Renew Your Passport TODAY!


6 Months Validity Passport Rule Exceptions

Some countries are more relaxed about the 6-month passport validity rule. Canada and Mexico are the two most commonly traveled countries that now enforce the passport six-month validity rule. Again, please be sure to check with each countries entry and exit travel requirements before you go. As a general rule, you should have at least six months validity on your passport before you travel.


Why the six months validity passport rule?

It is not a requirement of the U.S. government. The six-month validity passport rule is a requirement of other countries accepting foreign travelers. The six month passport validity rule is enforced because nations do not want to risk having travelers and tourists overstaying their passport validity. Six months is now the standard validity requirement for many countries. Most visitors to the United States are also now required to have six months validity of their passports.


List of Countries that Require 6 Months Passport Validity

Requirements for each country can change at any time. Please contact your destination country's embassy or consulate directly. This list is meant to be a helpful guideline for countries that enforce the six-month validity passport rule, but are of course subject to change.

    • Albania
    • Angola
    • Bahrain
    • Belize
    • Bolivia
    • Botswana
    • Brazil
    • Brunei
    • Burma (Myanmar)
    • Burundi
    • China
    • Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)
    • Ecuador (including Galápagos Islands)
    • French Polynesia
    • Guyana
    • Honduras
    • Indonesia
    • Iran
    • Iraq
    • Israel*
    • Kenya
    • Kiribati
    • Laos
    • Madagascar
    • Malaysia
    • Mauritius
    • Micronesia**
    • Mozambique
    • Namibia
    • New Caledonia
    • Nicaragua (currently waived by bilateral agreement)
    • Oman
    • Palau
    • Papua New Guinea
    • Philippines
    • Russian Federation
    • Saudi Arabia
    • Singapore
    • Taiwan
    • Tajikistan
    • Tanzania
    • Thailand
    • Timor-Leste (East Timor)
    • Turkey
    • Turkmenistan
    • Uganda
    • Ukraine
    • Venezuela
    • Vietnam
    • Zambia

*Some airlines that fly to Israel may require six months validity on your passport. Check with your airline first if you have less than 6 months passport validity.

**Micronesia requires US passport holders to have four months passport validity.